Denise with members of the Waitemata and Albert-Eden Local Boards L-R Margi Watson, Pippa Coom, Denise Roche, Richard Northey, Jessica Rose

City Vision’s Denise Roche has won the byelection for a position on the Waitemata Local Board following the announcement of progress votes.

Denise will bring a huge amount of passion and experience to the role.  Congratulations also to Labour’s Josephine Bartley who was elected to the governing body.

Auckland Council by-elections – progress results

Following by-elections in the Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward and the Waitematā and Manurewa Local Boards, Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske has announced the following progress voting results:

Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward

  1. Josephine Bartley (Labour),   7073 votes
  2. Josh Beddell (C&R/Future Auckland),  5580 votes

Manurewa Local Board

  1. Dave Pizzini (Manurewa Action Team), 4930 votes
  2. Brooke Loader (Labour), 3369 votes
  3. Michael Bailey (Independent), 1369 votes
  4. John Hall (Independent), 962 votes
  5. Jokaveti Nakabea Bai (Independent),  372 votes

Waitematā Local Board

  1. Denise Roche (City Vision), 2917 votes
  2. Greg Moyle (Balancing the Board), 2706 votes
  3. Allan Matson (Independent), 1936 votes
  4. Chang Hung (Independent),  1133 votes
  5. Morgan Avery (Independent), 1011 votes

The preliminary results will be available on Monday 19 February with final results available on Wednesday 21 February after special votes have been counted.