tick for kidsMedia release from Every Child Counts

3 September 2013

Growing list of candidates support the Tick for Kids agenda

A growing list of candidates in the local government and District Health Board elections are signing up to the ‘Tick for Kids’ campaign, confirming their commitment to children to young people.  The first list of candidates has been released today to enable voters and the news media to see who has signed up. To enable voters to support candidates who have signed up to the Tick for Kids agenda, we will release an updated list when voting papers are sent out on 20 September.

“We are pleased to see that 77 candidates have confirmed their commitment to progressing the interests of children and young people and we encourage others to do the same.   Given that children can’t vote it is important for candidates and voters to keep them in mind,” says Dennis McKinlay, Chair of Every Child Counts and spoksperson for the Tick for Kids campaign.

“Among the candidates who have signed up current Mayors, councilors and DHB members alongside people who are new to local government and DHBs.  Candidates can sign up to the Tick for Kids at surveymonkey.com

“Local government and DHBs are obliged by the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child to ensure children’s best interests are a priority consideration and they are well placed to ensure that children’s interests are addressed in local communities.  Voters have the opportunity to ensure that their councils and DHBs are focused on our most vulnerable citizens – children – so that policies deliver the conditions that support child wellbeing,” concludes Mr McKinlay.

Facebook: Tick for Kids

Tick for Kids agenda for local government

Tick for Kids agenda for DHBs

Candidates can sign up to Tick for Kids at https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/TickforKidsand  https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/TickforKidsDHB

The Tick for Kids campaign is supported by the following City Vision candidates (as at 2 September): Every Child Counts NZEI NZ Medical Association Nurses for Children and Young People Child Wellbeing Network

Local Government and District Health Board Candidates Signed up to Tick for Kids (as at 2 September)

  • Dr Cathy Casey –  Albert Eden Ward
  • Pippa Coom- Waitemata Local Board
  • Harry Doig -Puketapapa Local Board
  • Rohan Evans – Albert-Eden Board
  • Julie Fairey – Puketapapa Local Board
  • Glenda Fryer -Owairaka in the Albert-Eden Local Board
  • Helen Gaeta – Auckland District Health Board
  • Peter Haynes- Albert-Eden-Roskill Ward
  • Russell Hoban- Waitemata Local Board
  • Garth Houltham -Puketapapa Local Board
  • Will ‘Ilolahia – Auckland District Health Board
  • Shail Kaushal- Puketapapa Local Board
  • Mike Lee  -Waitemata and Gulf Ward, Auckland Council
  • Lisa Loveday – Albert-Eden Local Board (Maungawhau subdivision)
  • Tricia Read e-  Waitemata Local Board
  • Michael Wood -Puketapapa Local Board
  • Deborah Yates-  Waitemata Local Board