In Albert-Eden our achievements include

  • Supported community groups to run events and projects with over $800,000 of grants

  • Secured a second entrance to the new Maungawhau – Mt Eden Train Station
  • Advocated to central government for the best environmental and community outcomes from major housing developments in Ōwairaka and Carrington.    
  • Funded bus shelters, bike racks and pedestrian crossings and provided seed funding for the Tumeke Cycle Space bike hub at Gribblehirst Park 
  • Advocated for active transport improvements such as the improvements to the Northwestern Shared Path through Kingsland

  • Upgraded Aitken Reserve, Potters Park and others
  • Installed new sports fields at Fowlds Park and Phyllis Reserve and upgraded tennis courts at Anderson Park
  • Upgraded walking tracks, tree planting and ecological restoration 

  • Supported community groups such as Friends of Oakley Creek Te Auaunga and STEPS to protect and restore our natural environment
  • Progressed upgrades to the community buildings at Windmill Reserve 
  • Supported climate action projects, including expanding the Eco-Neighbourhoods programme, supporting a network of community gardens and developing a Low Carbon Action Plan
  • Funded pest free networks across Albert-Eden including in Epsom, Greenlane, Mt Eden, Pt Chevalier and Waterview
  • Provided funding to local business organisations to respond to Covid-19 

  • Provided funding towards the Sandringham Street Festival, the Moon Festival in Balmoral, Brazilian Day at Rocket Park, the Crave Street Party in Morningside and the Big Gay Out at Coyle Park 

  • Delivered a programme of free community and civic events such as Movies in Parks, Anzac Day, the Albert-Eden Schools Cultural Festival and family activities in parks 

  • Supported Māori culture through funding for kaupapa Māori initiatives, projects by Māori artists, cultural hikoi for new migrants and grants to local marae
  • Secured the new Waiōrea Community Recycling Centre at Western Springs Garden (opening mid 2022)

Your City Vision team on the Albert-Eden Local Board:  Margi Watson (Deputy Chair), Julia Maskill, Graeme Easte and Christina Robertson


Click here to return to the Accountability page.